A heart’s journey

My heart is breaking
each moment I see
a child deprived
of wonder and glee.

My heart is breaking
each instance I hear
a cry of a mother
lost in her fear.

My heart is breaking
each second I smell
the acrid smoke
of beings in hell.

My heart is breaking
each minute I feel
the cold winters
encircling the wheel.

My heart is breaking
each time I taste
nutrients processed
in chemical waste.

My heart is broken
and now I’m peace
for breaking is freedom
all attachments cease.

My heart is open
to suffering world
listening, gently,
to all stories told.

My heart sends love
with each breath I take
compassion abounds
for infinite ache.

My heart is not mine
but for all to enjoy
giving endlessly
pains to destroy.

My heart knows
that all those woes
come to an end
when beings ascend.

Leave a Reply

