My Sleeping Loves

In the morning I wake, get the day started
While my loves are sleeping ~
She, so little and angelic
You, so scruffy and warm ~
I come to you first, nuzzle you gently;
You pull me close, stretch and smile,
Dreaming of promises our kisses ignite.
I go to her next, my sleeping child,
Caress her back as a slow waking song;
She sleepily crawls onto my lap,
Head to my heart, warming my smile.
The day is long but what a good start,
To all the tomorrows, my waking Loves.

Leave a Reply

