Monkey

Perched upon a tree
swinging and seeing
the world up side down,
you think
I will fall…
no.
Oblivious to the world
around me,
I let sweet fantasies
take over me …
Unawares of being watched.

The forest is my home,
my canvas,
my lover.
She gives me life
and takes away my worries.
Today I run,
tomorrow I play,
yesterday I sleep.
In reverie I dwell each day,
swinging from tree to tree,
feeling the cool breeze
between my toes…
A wild creature.
An adventurous spirit.
Would I ever want more?

Leave a Reply

